Philipsburg-Osceola Mounties (1-2, 0-2) vs. Tyrone Golden Eagles (1-2, 1-1)

WHEN: September 13, 2019

WHERE: Gray-Veterans Memorial Field, Tyrone

SERIES HISTORY: The teams have played each other 67 times, with Tyrone holding a 41-26 lead. The Golden Eagles have won 15 straight against the Mounties dating back to 2004.

The Mounties’ last win in the series came on October 8, 2004 when P-O defeated the Eagles 7-6 at Memorial Field after blocking an extra-point in the final minutes of the game to preserve a slim lead.

Tyrone would return the favor later that season, defeating P-O 34-0 in the semifinals of the District 6 2A playoffs on their way to a District title.

Before the Mounties’ upset victory, Tyrone had beaten P-O 10 straight times.

The teams have faced each other three times in the postseason, with Tyrone winning time: 1986 (3A), 2003 (2A) and 2004 (2A).

Before the consolidation of Philipsburg and Osceola Mills in 1955, Tyrone faced each school individually dating back to 1923, when Philipsburg and Tyrone battled to a 20-20 tie. Osceola Mills became a regular opponent on the Eagles schedule in 1927.

COACHES: Tyrone: John Franco (256-122-2, 191-39 at Tyrone); Philipsburg-Osceola: Brian McGonigal (2-11).

SEASON SCORES: Tyrone lost to Bellwood-Antis (35-32, 2OT), and Central (12-7) before defeating Bishop Carroll (28-20); P-O defeated West Branch (41-7) before losing to Bald Eagle Area (32-7) and Bellefonte (55-7).

LAST MEETING: The Mounties took a 14-6 lead on Tyrone in the second quarter after touchdown passes from Bubba Slogosky and Ryan Whitehead, making it the first time P-O held an advantage over Tyrone since 2007. But the Eagles answered with three touchdowns to close the half ahead 26-12 and never looked back in a 32-14 victory at the Philipsburg-Osceola sports complex at Curtis Park on Friday, September 14, 2018.

Corey Lehman caught a touchdown pass from Denver Light to start the comeback, and later Zac Albright gave Tyrone the lead back with a 10-yard run to make it 20-14. Damon Gripp ended the half with a 48-yard interception return for a touchdown.

Light finished 10-for-20 for 129 yards, while Albright ran for 109 yards.

TEAM LEADERS: Tyrone – Brandon Lucas, 25-for-46 for 322 yards, 4 TDs, 5 Ints.; Noah Zimmerman, 27 carries for 123 yards, 1 TD; Damon Gripp, 10 receptions for 169 yards, 2 TDs; Brandon Lucas, 3 touchdowns; Keegan Raabe, 8 XP and 1 FG; Matt Clifton, 7 tackles for loss and 5 sacks; Brandon Homan and Brandon Lucas, 2 takeaways.

Philipsburg-Osceola – Ryan Whitehead, 26-for-53 for 365 yards, 4 TDs, 5 Ints.; Kaleb Stamm, 44 carries for 157 yards, 2 TDs; Hunter Weitoish, 6 receptions for 204 yards, 2 TDs; Hunter Weitoish, 3 TDs; Aaron Parks, 5 XP; Kaleb Stamm, 5 tackles for loss; Nate Gustkey, 2 takeaways.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.